Nine high schools and 15 students honored at 2017 HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program luncheon

HMSA awards $88,500 to Hawaii high schools and outstanding students.

School principals, athletic directors, students, and family members came from across the state to the Hawaii Convention Center today to honor Hawaii’s top high schools and the finest scholar athletes at the 2017 HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program luncheon.

HMSA and the Hawaii High School Athletic Association (HHSAA) began the program in August 2005 to recognize all-around accomplishments by high schools and reward individual students with scholarships.

At today’s awards ceremony, 15 students received scholarships worth $5,000. Nine high schools were recognized for achieving the highest program scores in their league (classified by enrollment) in academics, athletics, community service, healthy activities, and sportsmanship. The nine highest-scoring schools received a check for $1,500.

Hawaii News Now News Anchor Steve Uyehara and Hawaii Pacific Health Director of Foundation Communications Liz Chun emceed the awards luncheon. Presenters included KITV4 news anchor and UH Rainbow Warrior football play-by-play announcer Robert Kekaula, ESPN Hawaii radio personality Josh Pacheco, and Dave Vinton, director of OC16 Sports.

HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program 2017 Winning Schools

Big Island Interscholastic Federation

Small School (fewer than 200 students):
Parker School
Large School (200 students or more):
Keaau High School

Interscholastic League of Honolulu

Small School (fewer than 400 students):
Le Jardin Academy
Large School (400 students or more):
Hawaii Baptist Academy

Kauai Interscholastic Federation

Kapaa High School

Maui Interscholastic League

Small School (fewer than 350 students):
Lanai High School
Large School (350 students or more):
Kamehameha Schools Maui

Oahu Interscholastic Association

Small School (fewer than 1,300 students):
Kalaheo High School
Large School (1,300 students or more):
Waipahu High School

HMSA Kaimana Awards & Scholarship Program 2017 Student Scholarship Winners

Big Island Interscholastic Federation (BIIF)

Ruby Galapon, Keaau High School
Sabrina Marvin, Hawaii Preparatory Academy

Interscholastic League of Honolulu (ILH)

Devin Eng, Mid-Pacific Institute
Charles Fox, University Laboratory School
Kiarah Gomard, Sacred Hearts Academy
Kacey Wong, Sacred Hearts Academy

Kauai Interscholastic Federation (KIF)

Vanessa Hernandez Jimenez, Kapaa High School
Carolyn Price, Island School

Maui Interscholastic League (MIL)

Alexa Narayan, Maui Preparatory Academy
Dorian Raboy-McGowan, Kamehameha Schools Maui

Oahu Interscholastic Association (OIA)

Michele Fujita, Pearl City High School
Joey Pantil, Nanakuli High and Intermediate School
Elray Santiago Jr., Campbell High School
Kanani Uluave, Kahuku High and Intermediate School
Ryan Watanabe, Pearl City High School

About HMSA

Caring for the people of Hawaii is our promise and our privilege. Working together with employers, partners, and physicians and other health care providers, we promote wellness; develop reliable, affordable health plans; and support members with clear, thoughtful guidance.

HMSA is the most experienced health plan in the state, covering more than half of Hawaii’s population. As a recognized leader, we embrace our responsibility to strengthen the health and well-being of our community.

Headquartered on Oahu with centers and offices statewide to serve our members, HMSA is an independent licensee of the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association.